JOURNEY AS A MOUNTAINEER: My First Ever Climb

Posted on Updated on

 

quotes-mountain-ourselves-edmund-hillary-480x480.jpg

Mountain climbing is one of the trending outdoor activity nowadays. I’ve seen a lot of posts on different social media about “Buhis-Buhay Shots”, “Sea of Clouds”, “Selfie na nakatalikod para makita ang view haha!” and a lot more. Like most big challenges though, the feeling and satisfaction on reaching the peak gives a vast sense of fulfillment, achievement and success which ensures a feeling that can last a lifetime.

1.JPG
There’s a first time for everything

It was on January 18, 2016 when I first experienced being at the top of a mountain. My first climbing experience happened in Osmeña Peak (Dalaguete, Cebu). Actually, it was not part of my plan during my visit to Cebu to go to the said place but my friend named Jeff, who is currently living in Cebu invited me to try this kind of hobby in which it got my attention and made me feel ecstatic especially when I saw his photos on that mountain. Also, I’ve heard and read a lot of good feedback and as well as reviews about Osmeña Peak which also fuels up my excitement to experience the same and see how fascinating the view on the top of that place is. Starting this type of hobby is both an opportunity and challenge for me and I know there’s a lot to be learned along the way. Several questions crossed my mind before stepping into this kind of new adventure – from what  to wear? What to bring? What preparation must be done in order to be qualified physically and emotionally and a lot more. They say that, you must be physically fit and must first undergo mountaineering exercises. I did some research about those question mentioned above to make sure that I have the proper attire, equipment and all. Though on that day, I didn’t have the proper equipment with me coz I don’t have enough information on the first goods to be bought and where to buy high quality mountaineering items and besides, climbing Osmeña Peak doesn’t necessarily require you to have a complete equipment not unless if you decide to camp. In our case, we did day-hike only. 🙂

 

2.JPG
On the way to the Peak

There are two ways on how to get there. One is to take a motorcycle from Dalaguete Junction to the base of the peak and pay Php 200.00 for a round-trip fare. The advantage of this is that, you will be able to reach the summit from the base of the peak by a 20-30 minute trek. Another one is to walk from the Junction up to the summit which is more adventurous and more exciting. This would take around 2-3 hours but it may vary depending on the phasing. In this case, we chose the former because we arrived at the junction at around 10 am (tagal kasing nakagising, haha!) and we are in a hurry at that time for we are after the “clearing” which is said to happen around 9:00 am to 12:00 noon. Clearing is the term used to denote if the scenery on the top or summit is visible with no huge clouds interfering the view, but it would really depend on the weather condition.

 

3.JPG
Jump-off! Rayts! 

 

Tadaaaa! At the base of the peak after a 45-minute ride from Dalaguete Junction. I can’t contain the feeling of excitement to reach the summit. *fantastic baby! wohoo*. We climb for about 20 minutes to reach the summit.

 

4

6.JPG
At the peak! hooray! (sayang mejo foggy ang view, tsk!)

Finally, We did it! I always kept saying “Wow”  and was mesmerized by the view. I can’t believe that I finally reached it, having second thoughts before thinking that I can only see and witnessed these kind of views on google images, facebook, instagram, and other social networking sites but here it is, I’m at the top of the mountain! Hooray! Good thing, we were the first one who arrived at that time. The feeling of being at the top of the mountain gives you a sense of fulfillment and be amazed by how God created the world. This experience gave me the motivation and desire to climb more mountains. There’ so much in this world to be thankful for. 🙂

 

5.JPG
Nakatalikod na pose at the summit! haha

As you can see, you will be fascinated and stunned by how majestic our God is. As I watched and took photos in the process, I am being reminded by these verse:

“As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace”   – 1 Peter 4:10

Truly, we are blessed to have these creations. We are assigned to take good care and be a steward of this. Always apply LNT (Leave No Trace) principle along the way, not just here on mountains but also in our surroundings. kahit na sa kakaunting paraan or act, we are practicing how to be a responsible citizen and develop a habit of being a good one. As the saying goes, Cleanliness is next to Godliness. 

 

7.JPG
Buhis-Buhay shot DAW! hahaha

 

8.JPG
Me and my friend, Jeff at the rock formation! 🙂

As we descend from the summit, may nakita kaming spot na katulad ng “Gungal Rock” ng Mount Ulap. Without any hesitation and fear that we might fall down from the rock, we immediately went there and took a photo on it. Nanginginig pa yung mga paa namin at that time, baka mahulog kami or what, pero worth it naman yung experience! *Insert Adventure of a Lifetime song by Coldplay here* HAHA!

Overall, the feeling when you finally reach the summit was priceless. Lahat ng pagod, pawis, gastos were paid off. Another moment of a lifetime to be cherished. At dahil dito sa experience na ito, I am looking forward to continue with this kind of hobby and aim higher and more challenging mountains and its trail. I’m not saying that Osmeña Peak was an easy one, but if you are going to compare it with other mountains, yes it would be less tiresome and stressful to climb maybe due to its established trails.

 

Before I will end this blog, a piece of reminder for those mountaineers out there. I’m not here to pretend as professional in this field just because I am imposing something but I want this to be inculcated to all:

“TAKE NOTHING BUT PICTURES”

“LEAVE NOTHING BUT FOOTPRINTS”

“KILL NOTHING BUT TIME”

“BRING NOTHING BUT MEMORIES”

 


HOW TO GET THERE:

Take a bus at the South Terminal traveling to Oslob or Bato. Ask the driver or conductor to drop you at the Dalaguete Junction (travel time is around 2-3 hours). There are 2 options that you can choose from:

  1. Trek from the junction to the peak: 3-4 hours trekking time but may vary depending on your phasing. 
  2. Hire a motorcycle from the Junction going to the base of the peak: 45 minutes travel time going to the base and 20-30 minutes trekking time going to the summit. 

 

EXPENSES: 

Bus ticket:                         280.00 PHP (ROUNDTRIP)

Habal-habal:                      200.00 PHP (ROUNDTRIP)

Registration Fee:                 20.00 PHP

TOTAL:                               500.00 PHP

 

*You have the option to traverse to Kawasan falls but our purpose was just simply a day-hike only. 

17 thoughts on “JOURNEY AS A MOUNTAINEER: My First Ever Climb

    thelittlelai said:
    April 11, 2016 at 7:20 pm

    Hello,
    I’m glad you were able to go up to the summit, which is not really requires a lot of preparation as you have said. Osmena peak has been the notable landmarks in Cebu, aside from the panoramic vistas that you will see atop it’s also the best spot to do camping. Perhaps on your next visit you’ll try.

    Liked by 1 person

      NOT JUST YOUR ORDINARY SCIENTIST responded:
      April 11, 2016 at 7:28 pm

      Hi,
      Yes, you’re right! I thought, it would require a lot of preparation on climbing Osmena Peak (first timer feels, kelangan laging handa haha!). Yes, I will. Anyways, thanks for dropping by. God bless. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    master.ryo said:
    April 13, 2016 at 12:14 am

    I’m glad you were able to visite and dared to climb to the top of O-peak. BTW I enjoy reading thoughtful insights you injected. Great job, keep posting!
    Here’s my take about O- peak : http://bit.ly/1S56TbK

    cheers from: http://www.masterryo.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

      NOT JUST YOUR ORDINARY SCIENTIST responded:
      April 13, 2016 at 1:59 am

      Thank you very much! hehe. Do you any idea on what season does the flowers on sirao peak blooms? hehe. I’ve seen a lot of posts regarding that place. hehe. Thanks! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        master.ryo said:
        April 13, 2016 at 5:01 am

        I haven’t been there myself either. I am afraid I can’t provide you a clear information regarding that matter. However, I have a contact number of the said place that you may call on to Jojie Limutan 0949-729-3318 ( She is the daughter of the caretaker)

        Liked by 1 person

    NOT JUST YOUR ORDINARY SCIENTIST responded:
    April 13, 2016 at 5:51 am

    Thank you very much! 🙂 yan kasi ang next target ko pagbalik jan sa cebu. hehe. :))

    Liked by 1 person

    YOUR NUMBER ONE FAN said:
    April 13, 2016 at 11:50 am

    Congratulations to you my NOT JUST ORDINARY SCIENTIST! You did it! Yey! 👍🏻👏🏻 So excited for your next draft. Proud of you, L.

    Liked by 2 people

    YOUR NUMBER ONE FAN said:
    April 13, 2016 at 11:58 am

    Congratulations on this! You did it!

    Like

    Adrenaline Romance said:
    April 20, 2016 at 3:05 am

    Nice entry! Congratulations on your first mountain trekking experience. This is just a start because there are hundreds of mountains that await you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    dakilanglaagan said:
    April 25, 2016 at 3:29 am

    Nice post! 🙂 🙂 🙂
    Friend man diay kang Jeff. 😀 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    calmkate said:
    June 20, 2016 at 10:57 am

    I was a mountaineer decades ago, sad to see how commercial it’s become … especially the trashing of Mt Everest! Glad I trekked the Anapurnas, etc when things were pristine.
    Glad you’ve found a new adventure, enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

